Linwood School

Get Directions3421 Martha Bush Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043-4426
Howard County
Referral Contact(s):
Karen Wright, Education Director | Winsome Parchment, HR Director
Disabilities Served:
08 - other health impairments, 09 - specific learning disabilities, 10 - multiple disabilities, 14 - autism
Capacity of Facility:
MSDE Approval Category:
Type I Special Education
Ages Served:
Grade Range:
Graded K-8; non-graded 5-21
Private Pay Students Accepted:
Before and/or After School Program:
Nurse on-site (full or part time):
Wheelchair Accessible:
Hours of Operation for School Day:
9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Length of School/Program Year:
12 month
Program Description:
Linwood School provides academic, communication-based, and vocational programming to students with autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities. Students are taught using a multidisciplinary approach in small class sizes with a staff to student ration dependent upon the IEPs implemented in each classroom. Instruction is data driven based on IEPs, assessments and curricula that includes the Verbal Behavior Milestones Assessment and Placement (VB-MAPP), the Maryland College and Career Readiness Standards, the Syracuse Community- Referenced Curriculum Guide, The Assessment of Functional Living Skills (AFLS), and the TEACCH Transition Assessment Profile (TTAP). Linwood programming is designed to encourage communication using multiple modalities including verbal speech, gestures, communication devices, pictures, and sign language. Students are taught utilizing a variety of strategies including discrete trial instruction, small and large group instruction, sensory integration, community-based instruction and social skills training. A heavy emphasis is placed on generalization of learned skills across various environments and teaching replacement behaviors. The program utilizes Board Certified Behavior Analysts (BCBA), who write and train staff on individualize Behavior Intervention Plans, as well as class-wide and community-wide best practices. In order to provide a smaller learning environment for students, Linwood School is comprised of three communities. The Green Community is for our early learners, ages 5-13. This community focuses on building foundational academic skills across all content areas, communication skills, social skills, and activities of daily living. The Blue Community is for middle school students through age 21. Programming and instruction focuses on math, literacy, communication, social skills, and the development of vocational skills and vocational behaviors. Linwood’s vocational program provides career exploration through career clusters and job training including work experiences within the school and the community. The Orange Community is for high school students through age 21 focusing on independent living skills and activities of daily living. Our Vocational Program, ages 14 through 21, focuses on transitioning individuals successfully into adult life. Linwood is approved by MSDE to provide a community-based residential program for students with autism. Our program is licensed by the Department of Human Services and is an approved Autism Waiver provider.
Related Services:
Speech and language services, occupational therapy, educational assessment and curriculum support, physical education, music therapy, social work services, nursing, transitional services and behavioral management